By July 1, 2016 Read More →

Gold by Geraldine Mills

GOldNew in at Charlie Byrne’s is Gold by Galway author Geraldine Mills. Geraldine Mills has been a poet and short story writer for many years, this is her first novel and her first work for children which has already been receiving positive reviews!

Starn and Esper live in a silent, ashen world that has been devastated by volcanic explosions. They long for sunshine and freedom, for life beyond the ash.

When they find an ancient book, which contains a treasure map, the boys know what they must do. They hatch a daring plan to build a glider – and the great gold hunt begins. But will they find it? And at what cost?

A tale of mystery and adventure for children aged 10+, this story fuses a classical style adventure story with a dystopia that explores topics such as ecology and politics. Gold is perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Lois Lowry and Patricia Forde and would make excellent escapist summer reading.

Copies of Gold are available in Charlie Byrne’s for €10. For more information, or to reserve a copy, simply contact us.

Comments are closed.