By March 22, 2016 Read More →

Oasis by Eilís Barrett

oasisComing highly recommended from our Children’s section manager Ruth, Oasis is the first novel of 16 year old Galway author Eilís Barrett. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins or Divergent by Veronica Roth, Oasis is a page-turning dystopia that will keep you gripped.

In the near future, a virus will drive humankind to the brink of extinction. With the illness spreading faster than attempts to control it and society collapsing, the last surviving city will become a beacon of hope for survivors.

Walled off from the outside world this city is christened Oasis.

eilis barrettGoverning on a promise to protect its citizens from infection at all costs, the government of Oasis begins to impose its vision of the perfect society. Every aspect of life is controlled, and the city begins to take on a new, sinister shape.

Born into this world is Quincy Emerson, a resident of the Outer Sector Dorms, brutal housing institutions reserved for those judged at risk of infection. Beyond the walls of Oasis, however, something is stirring and events are about to overtake Quincy. Her fate, it turns out,  may not be written in her genes.

Maybe freedom is knowing who you are, so no one can try to make you think you’re someone else.

Oasis is available at Charlie Byrne’s for €15. For more information, or to reserve a copy, simply contact us.

 

 

Comments are closed.